My Thoughts · Quarter Life Corner

Overwhelmed and Lost and Confused and OMG What Am I Doing With My Life??

Let’s start off with two truths & a lie. You know the game. I tell you three things about myself and you have to guess which one is a lie.

Okay, let’s see.

  1. I’m 25-years-old and have never felt more inspired about my future.
  2. I’m really happy with the major I chose in college and feel that I’m ready to dive into the appropriate job market.
  3. I don’t really watch a lot of TV.

If you guessed number one to be a truth then you are clearly still in school and have not yet had to face the cold-hearted world outside of the ivy-covered halls. Inspiration is fleeting and Worry becomes your new best friend. Or maybe you are much older and have distorted your memories of your twenties into a care-free, wonderful fragment of your life instead of remembering that it was actually a time of extreme self-doubt, ordering appetizers as your meal because you can’t afford a full entree, and overwhelming loneliness that at times leaves you laying on your floor listening to Bon Iver’s cover of  “I Can’t Make You Love Me” on repeat for three hours.

If you thought that number two was a truth then congratulations! You decided to choose a major outside of the liberal arts and are either on your way to a well-paid, specified field of employment or are already there and are thinking about 401Ks and credit scores! If you aren’t one of the lucky ones that chose a technical career, like computer engineering or sports medicine or physicist, then you probably can relate to the feeling that your major doesn’t exactly correspond with a predetermined career.

Finally, if you believed that number three was a truth then you clearly don’t know how capable I am of wasting time and energy on fictional characters that exist in alternate universes.

Much like the boys I dated in college did to me, I am lying to you about everything. All of the three statements are false because as soon as you graduate college and are painfully shoved into the real world you will learn that the saying that “your twenties are the best times of your life” is a BIG FAT LIE. In actuality, your twenties are a time of paralyzing self-doubt, crippling self-pity, and nauseating self-absorption. It’s ugly. It’s scary. So, yeah, I lied to you. Welcome to the real world. You’re gonna hate it.

